top of page

Hey hey..it's your very first birthday!

A WHOLE YEAR has passed already! One whole year...who can believe that!? One year of so many milestones and "firsts" for your little one. A whole year of adjusting and learning and loving for the whole family. First birthdays only come once. They are special and deserve their own session.






Here's what you can expect at a first birthday session with me in studio.


*Before getting in touch think of a "theme" or color combo you'd like to work with. If you aren't too creative and are open for anything. That's okay too! Just let me know and we can figure something great out!











**Some people choose to do a smash cake or other treat (donuts, cupcakes, cookies, watermelon, pancakes etc.) Some don't. It's totally up to you. I just need to know beforehand so I am properly set up. I do NOT provide a smash cake. Due to the low cost of the session already and the issue of allergies, I find it best to leave that up to the family what they bring.

From experience, shy away from red or dark blue colored frosting and chocolate cake (looks like dirt on their face).













**What to wear????

You will get up to three outfits.


One for the "Theme" or selected color scheme you have chosen.

Another outfit for the more classic and neutral set I will coordinate to go with the outfit you choose

And another to go back to the theme set to devore some cake or other treat!


Some children cannot tolerate being changed that many times. You know your child best. If putting things over their head repeatedly like that bothers them, try to find an outfit that will go with the theme for a few shots AND go with cake for a few more.






*Some outfits are pretty basic and some are super theme related. Whatever you and your child's personality are okay with..so am I.



**Set-ups

Some set-ups are pretty extravagant and some are very simple and basic. All depends on what your wanting/looking for. Both are excellent for a session and super fun! I try to do one of each at each session for a variety.






**First birthday sessions require A LOT of energy from Mom/Dad. Especially if the birthday kiddo is walking already. No worries...we will get some cute shots I promise! There's a lot of distractions, singing, loud noises, dancing around and dropping and running. Even if there isn't a lot of smiles, the photos are still guaranteed to be adorable!


For Twins: Twin first birthday prices are a little higher unfortunately. Sessions take longer to shoot and edit and some parents want completely different themes. Twin pricing will be dependent on if the kids will be "sharing" a theme or need their own unique set ups. Just ask!













Here's some helpful hints and an overall breakdown of everything:


*The session will cost $160. That includes all images taken for digital download plus 15-20 edited images with a print release. All images are delivered via an online gallery that you can download as a zip file to your computer. You can also order prints right from the site and they are delivered to your home. That $160 does not include helium balloons and a smash cake/treat. Payment is due in full at the session.


*Please only one or two parents with the child being photographed. No small siblings. I have had a few first birthday sessions turn out pretty difficult due to siblings not cooperating, acting out and distracting the child being photographed. If you'd like photos of them together, we can certainly schedule another session at a later date.


*I like to do the birthday sessions at 10-13 months of age.


*My turn around time is 2 weeks. So, if you need the images for invites etc. please schedule accordingly.


*Sessions take anywhere from 40-60 minutes usually depending on baby's mood.


*Your welcome to bring your own smash cake/treat. Make sure to bring a few snacks that baby loves to hide in the cake in case baby isn't really "feeling" sweets that day. They will dig a little for their treat and we can make it look like they are really loving the cake (when in reality it's probably just their Cheerios or puffs! LOL) I have lots of cake stands so no need to bring one.


*If you plan to bring a cake, PLEASE try some sweets (even cake and icing!) at home first. It is difficult to bring a whole cake for a baby to dive into when they have never had anything sweet. Most kids scream and cry because it's new and they are not used to it. A little small practice at home can work miracles for in studio.


*You can do 2-3 outfits. One to coordinate with your theme/color combo, one neutral and one for the smash cake/treat. I also request you send photos of the outfits you choose at least a week before if not earlier so I can pull the appropriate drops before you arrive. Most of my drops are fabric and require steaming etc. I cannot do that with you in the studio...it takes way too long. I have to have it set up before hand. Don't worry about shoes. Most baby shoes have weird markings on the bottom and that's what you will see when they are sitting. Bare piggies are the best anyways!


*I have tons of backdrops and props. Unfortunately, I cannot send photos of all of them. There is just simply wayyy too much and I turn them around all the time to make room for new stuff. If you see something on my page you love, just ask and I may still have it. If not, let me know what your thinking and most times I can create something.


*Unsure of what theme to choose? Just ask! I always have ideas or sometimes even sets I haven't used in a long time or at all yet since purchase that I'd love to pull out for you.


*IMPORTANT! ONCE YOU GIVE ME YOUR THEME IDEA, PLEASE DO NOT CHANGE IT! I try to purchase items and backdrop immediately upon booking. Most cannot be returned. Once you tell me your idea, it's very disheartening to loose money on items and backdrops already purchased. Thanks for understanding!









First birthdays are one of my favorite sessions! I cannot wait to work with you and your little one to document such a momentous occasion!


My studio is located at: 516 Lowry Ave. Jeannette PA, 15644


I will be in touch a day or two before you session to confirm and give specifics on the studio directions.
















Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page