top of page

"Motherhood is tough...but so am I..."


My next personal project is something I've wanted to do for awhile. Please keep reading....

It's no secret I had my children young. So, I didn't have much time to enjoy a nice, semi-flat belly ....firm tushy.....no cellulite legs kind of body. Was it worth the stretch marks...scars and sagging....ABSO FREAKIN' LUTELY!!!!!

Any mother will tell you pregnancy is hard on so many levels. But, especially physically. A few walk away the lucky unscaved ones...not a stretch mark and a flat belly within a few weeks. Most....(including me!) bear the scars of a hard fought nine month battle.

For years I wore bathing suits and clothing to cover my "fupa" and dozens upon dozens of stretch marks. I hate them..every single one of them.

Recently I got to photograph a woman who had a mastectomy. She showed all of her scars and didn't hide a single thing. It's part of her story..her battle. It got me to thinking. Why hide my motherhood and pregnancy battle wounds? They produced the best pieces of me. They mean I love someone and created someone so special that I was willing to never look "perfect" again. As in all aspects of my entire life...I'm willing to give up anything and everything for my children. Including that flat belly and perfect skin.

We all handled pregnancy differently. We all have had different numbers of pregnancies. We all fed our babies differently...raised them differently....chose names, friends, schools, activities and lifestyles based on what we felt was best. All of that is something every Mom has in common. Children bring out the best in us. No matter how we look.....our Mom hearts are the same. We love unconditionally and support other Mother's.

 

This project is titled: "Motherhood is tough, but so am I!"

*I want to photograph different women who are Mom's. All races, ages and body types. To prove all Mom's are beautiful!

 

Here's what I am asking for:

*Each woman will wear all black. And their stomach HAS to be showing. A plain black bralette or sports bra and black tight shorts, long skirt or leggings. No logos...no grey...no other colors. All black.

*All images will be used on line and on social media. You HAVE to be okay with that.

*Session is only a $5 fee (so I can weed out the non-serious ladies). Should only take about 15 minutes or so. But, you will have to purchase the images at a discount if you want those. All posted on social media will be watermarked.

*I will have all Mom's photographed alone. I will be randomly picking ladies who have children from different age categories to bring their babies along too.

(0-1 year

2-5 years

6-10 years

11-15 years

16-20 years

20+ years)

I will also be choosing women who have just one child to multiple children. I want to show all aspects of motherhood. When you click the link below to sign up you will be asked about your children. I will let you know if your chosen.

Children are to be naked if under 2 years old or just a diaper/diaper cover that is preferably black. All others are to have black bottoms and plain black tank top.

(if you don't want your children to participate just make note of that on your questionnaire).

**I am BEGGING to only sign up if you are interested and will truly show up and be prepared to participate. (I had someone from my summer dress project/Be Kind....come and tell me to my face she put no effort or thought into it and didn't really care....Ugh...stab right to my creative heart!)

 

THE GOAL:

Let's support other Mothers. Let's love our bodies after pregnancy. Let's lift and support one another in this crazy journey that we call parenthood!

I'm also hoping to be inspired by all your gorgeous women to be able to pose myself...fupa and all!

Schedule here: (as of now these are the only dates/times I can do)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page