top of page

Be Kind...that's all...just Be Kind


I started the traveling dress project (Be Kind) as a way to get out some of my creativeness. I honestly was super excited to pose, edit and decide whatever locations I wanted. Doing paid sessions are amazing...don't get me wrong. But, sometimes I need to do my own creative thing. I need to work for myself instead of what others need/want. I think it makes me better in the long run for my customers. Anyhooooo........the traveling dress showed up in my local photography group and I jumped on it! The dress was gorgeous and the creative juices started flowing right away for me!

What it turned into was a project that was super close to my heart for many personal reasons. The main one being my oldest daughter who also participated. I never understood why anyone cared what she did or does with her own personal life. Why does anyone care who she loves and who loves her? There are so many things I just don't understand. This project helped open my eyes to a few different subjects as well.

I found that I had so much in common with so many of the participants! I struggle with the same body issues, judged for being a working Momma and in the most recent months for being "so emotional". I think I found a few new friends in this group. I few "soul sisters"...(even though I don't drink coffee! lol). I am always open to new people in my life. Especially ones who understand and have the same struggles I do.

A few of the women have or are struggling with issues and being judged for things that I have never experienced and my heart goes out to them. I wish them nothing but peace and strength. I hope you will keep them in your thoughts as well.

I had all age ranges of women.

All ethnic groups...religions....sizes...shapes.....and personalities. I hope that I achieved my goal of showcasing so many issues that we all face. I covered things from domestic abuse to workplace discrimination. Gay issues to self esteem problems. Infertility to being a stay at home mom. Being judged for how you look. What color your skin is. Or your uniquely abled child.

I have some numbers for you when it came to this project. I had 14 participants. Only 4 of those chose to purchase their galleries. At first I honestly took that to heart and thought that the ladies didn't like my work. I felt that they were unhappy with what I provided them. When I really sat and thought about that.....I realized that maybe it wasn't necessarily my work, but maybe a self esteem issue. Why are we so hard on ourselves? Why are we are own worst critics? We don't want others to judge us, yet we do it to ourselves ALL the time! I find it a shame that more women don't like how they look, especially in photographs. That makes me super sad. :(

I left a few of these sessions in tears. Some of the conversations got really personal and emotional. I cannot express enough how grateful I am to these ladies for opening up and telling me their struggles and stories. It is humbling to know that I was trusted enough to tell it for them through photos.

I had a private Facebook group that was for the models. Tips on what to wear and bring etc. In that group I shared with them that the money raised from the sales of the albums was going to be donated to a couple local causes that were featured. I have since changed my mind on that and found one local cause to donate to. It's something near and dear to my heart...and I hope many of yours......

Everyone but one lady who participated was local to the Greensburg area. So that means we all know Terry Ranieri. Terry was a legend. He was at the mall every weekend, at every community event and at every Hempfield football game. I have chosen to donate to his memorial fund "Everyone's Friend". The fund will help a member of the Hempfield Spartan band with scholarship monies every year.

I have chosen this because Terry NEVER JUDGED ANYONE! He didn't care who you were, who you loved, how you were dressed....you were his friend. You got a high five as he walked by. He sat with you in the food court at the mall. He loved everyone and told you that all the time. He was and always will be the true spirit of humanity and decency. He is someone we should all aspire to be and be like. Never ever judgement. Just love. I encourage you all to donate as well!

https://www.gofundme.com/f/terryranieri?utm_source=customer&utm_medium=copy_link&utm_campaign=p_cp+share-sheet

Once again I'd like to send my most heartfelt thanks to all the ladies who sweated and about passed out in the heat in this gorgeous creation of a dress. The ladies who shared with me and with you very personal issues, stories and problems they have lived or deal with daily. I am hoping to do one project a year now. Something near and dear to my heart. Something to keep not only my creativeness a driving force but to bring some sort of awareness to an issue.

The moral of this whole project is simple....Be Kind. You never know what someone has gone through or is dealing with. You never know how much someone is like you. You never know how they have been hurt or are hurting. Accept people for who they are. Love them regardless....because one day.....they may be gone.

As always...much love and many many hugs,

Joyce


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page